Home > Alumni > Revived


The origins of The Bangalore Medical College Alumni Association date back to 1967. The original office bearers were Dr. B T Sampath Kumar (President), Dr. V Chandrashekar (Secretary) and Dr. K R Murthy (Treasurer) who held office till 1980. From 1980 to 2000 Dr. M N Subramanya was President, Dr. N R Acharaya was Secretary (1980-1985) and Dr. K M Srinivasa Gowda (Secretary 1985-2000). Dr. H C Sathya served as President from 2000-2006, with Dr. S R Gurumurthy (2000-2012) and Dr. N Rangaraj (2000-2008) served as Secretary and Treasurer respectively. Later on Dr. N R Acharya was President followed by Dr. N Rangaraj and Dr. T. Rajeshwari (2012-todate). Dr. B H Natesh served as Secretary (2012-2013) with the present incumbent Dr. S R Umesh having taken over in the year 2013. While late Dr. H S Venkatesha Murthy served as the Treasurer in 2009-2010, Dr. P S Thandava Murthy is presently holding fort as Treasurer. Dr. Munichoodappa, Dr. K M Srinivasa Gowda, Dr. B N Sathyanarayana Rao, Dr. N Rangaraj, Dr. S R Gurumurthy have served as Vice Presidents for varying periods of time. Present overseas members are Dr. K. S. Bhanumathi (UK), Dr. C. L Prasanna Kumar (Canada), Dr. Ram R Krishna (USA), Dr. M.S. Krishna (USA).

The BMC Alumni Association was mainly responsible for the grand Golden Jubilee Celebrations in 2005. While Dr. Meera Meudi, the then Dean of BMC was the Chairman, Dr. K M Srinivasa Gowda was the Organizing Secretary. These celebrations culminated in the establishment of the DIGITAL LIBRARY and SEMINAR HALL (completely contributed by the Alumni) a 24 HOUR LABORATORY in the Victoria Hospital Campus (as contribution from the citizenry of Bangalore—but in reality by INFOSYS FOUNDATION) and a modern CASUALTY AND EMERGENCY BLOCK at Victoria Hospital (as the contribution from the GOVT. of KARNATAKA). In all these endeavors, the outstanding contribution of Dr. K Lakshman in the conceptualization and execution of the projects require special mention.

The BMC Development Trust was established immediately after the Golden Jubilee Celebrations were over to continue the contribution of the Alumni towards the improvement of infrastructure of BMC. The Trust has Seven Life Trustees (Dr. K M Srinivasa Gowda, Dr. H.C. Sathya, Dr. N. Rangaraj, Dr. Nanjama Medappa, Dr. T. Rajeshwari, Dr. K. Lakshman, Dr. S. R. Gurumurthy) and Five Rotating Trustees (Dr. H.H. Suresh, Dr. P.S. Thandava Murthy, Dr. K.N. Sridhar, Dr. A. Jayarajan, Dr. R Vathsala) and Five Advisors (Dr. M.S Krishna (USA), Dr. Sarode K Pundaleeka (USA), Dr. C.V. Arun Kumar (USA), Dr. R.S.Suryanarayana Setty (UK), Dr. R. Muralidhar (UK). Dr. K M Srinivasa Gowda has been the Chairman of the trust since its inception. Dr. K Lakshman has served as Secretary in the initial years after its inception and Dr. H H Suresh is present Secretary.

The BMC DT has Wi-Fi enabled the BMC Campus, donated Laptops and Projection Equipment to the Departments of Pathology, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Medicine, Physiology, Anatomy. Clinical Examination Tables was donated to Physiology Department. The Pathology Lecture Hall was completely refurbished with all the equipment necessary and was named after Dr. M Krishna Bhargava and Dr. K V Ghorpade. A dining facility for the students has also been furnished.

Perhaps the crowning glory as on date of the BMC DT is the establishment and commissioning of the State-of-the-Art CLINICAL SKILLS CENTRE which is the first of its kind in any Government Medical College in Karnataka and only two or three of the numerous private medical colleges in the state have established this facility, which is actually very important (and a requirement of MCI) in the training of budding doctors as well as Post Graduate Students in Surgery. Even in the planning and execution of the project, Dr. K Lakshman's contribution was substantial.

Our next project is very ambitious which will help everybody. This is the establishment of a BONE MARROW REGISTRY by December 2015, when the Diamond Jubilee of BMC will be celebrated on the 25th, 26th and the 27th of December 2015.

At this juncture, we have to place on record the contributions of the BMC Alumni who have settled abroad. Dr. C L Prasanna Kumar in Canada and the office bearers and BMCite members of KARNATAKA STATE MEDICAL AND DENTAL DOCTORS ASSOCIATION OF AMERICA (KSMDA) have always risen to the occasion to help the BMC Alumni Association and BMC Development Trust in every way they can.

The BMC Alumni Association and Development Trust are now being hailed as shining examples of how the alumni can help their alma mater.

Since 2006, the Annual BMC Alumni Day is celebrated on 15th August of every year (Indian Independence Day). On this occasion five teachers are honoured and three selected BMC Alumni are conferred "Distinguished Alumnus of BMC".